Culture & Lifestyle
Customs & Rituals
Food Habits
Folk Dances
Rural Fairs
Kullu Dussehra
Royal Family
Status of Women
Malana - Community
 Royal Family of Kullu

Royal Family of KulluKullu has been ruled by Pal Dynasty since the end of 1st century or beginning of 2nd century. Vihangamani Pal was the initiator of the lineage of Rajas of Kullu. It is said that the neighboring chiefs drove him out of Mayapuri (Haridwar, Uttranchal). He arrived at Kullu and as a legend narrates, was crowned the king of upper Beas region with the blessings of Goddess Hadimba. Jagatsukh was the capital from where his descendants ruled for twelve generations.

The chronicles of Rajas reveal that there were 85 Rajas of Pal dynasty. Pal dynasty ruled Kullu for more than 1500 years. In around 1500 AD they adopted the surname 'Singh'. They ruled Kullu up to 1846 AD. After that, the British Government abolished Kingship and appointed them as Rai and also took over half of their estate. In 1947, India became independent and the ruling power of the Rajas was abolished.

Although, constitutionally, their estate has been dissolved but their importance in the cultural arena of the valley cannot be ignored. They are an integral part of the religious ceremonies during Dussehra festival. At present, the Royal family lives in Raghunathpur, which became the capital of Kullu in 1660 during the reign of Raja Jagat Singh.

Raja Maheshwar Singh heads the Royal family. Presently, he is a Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) and was twice elected as a member of the Himachal Pradesh, legislative assembly in 1977 and 1982.

. . . .
© Himalayan Websites